Week one Wrap- Up

Well, guys, I survived week one of grad school… Somehow. I remember many professors telling us that grad school was way more intense than our undergrad Communication Disorders program. I just kept thinking “It can’t be much different than this, right?”

WRONG.
Grad school is a whole different level. For me, it’s just weird to have so much “independent learning” time and opportunity. I have also found (and this might just be a difference in schools) that supervisors here are way more into letting the grad students develop a unique course of therapy or “treatment paradigm” for clients. I really like that. Though it is way harder to do than to go to a supervisor meeting and proceed exactly how your supervisor would have, it is rewarding to think critically about my own style of therapy. I am slowly gaining confidence in my own ideas, which is something I am not used to. I am also learning that “fake it ’til you make it” is a good strategy if you are not feeling confident!

It’s been an adjustment to begin working as a team in graduate school after having to be so competitive to get in. My instinct was to blaze through it all alone, but I have decided that it would be much easier and more enjoyable with a little help from the others in my cohort.

We were assigned clients last week. I am excited to work with mine. He will come twice a week for an hour and a half. One good thing about UWG is that they ease you into clients. One of the ladies that interviewed me told me it was so we would become quality clinicians before loading on the quantity. It’s good because my client is using a type of therapy that I literally just got certified in. It gives me time to focus on that before he comes next week.

All in all, I’m getting pretty used to being here. I’m still not quite comfortable with everything, but I am trying to adapt. I’m glad to have the opportunity to be a student clinician at UWG. I’m excited about the possibilities with my new client.

Leave a Reply

