Week 2 and 3.. And 4.

IMG_0661.JPG
Here’s the thing.. I’m apparently terrible at handling grad school’s demands.
Terrible.
How am I supposed to do all that is expected of me for clinic and sleep and have a social life and maintain good grades and teach a Sunday school class…

I’m learning that multitasking is an ability that you are not capable that you can do to such an extent until you have to. It’s crazy to think that I do have time to do all of these things (except maybe have a social life 😀) and keep up with all that is required of me as an academic mentor to athletes at the University of West Georgia. it has been very stressful so far but has also been very rewarding.

I just completed my third week of clinic and I’ve already learned so much even in this short amount of time. The most hilarious (and terrifying) thing happened the day that I got my client’s file. To give you a bit of backstory, at Auburn I had a professor who taught us about child and adolescent language disorders. The disorder that my current client has was briefly mentioned by that professor, but, as she said, “Don’t worry about this disorder because you will never see it in the clinic.” Boy was I shocked as I opened my clients folder and saw that diagnosis on the first page. I remember thinking that I would not be able to give him effective therapy because I did not know much about his disorder.

But, you know what? I am making it.

Once again I am realizing that I am so blessed to be able to be presented with these opportunities to learn. I absolutely love being with my client and learning more about him the three hours a week that I see him. Though he is definitely not the easiest client to have, he is resilient and works hard. There have been some behavior problems but they’re starting to be resolved through new behavioral approaches that my supervisor and I decided on. The behavior issues were the cause of my first break down in graduate school. However, I at least waited to break down until I was in my supervisors office. Haha. She had tissues ready and waiting.

IMG_0664-0.JPG

The University of West Georgia still doesn’t quite feel like my home, but I am accepting it as sort of a home away from home. I absolutely love my assistantship as it gives me the opportunity to help at risk students and students who simply have a lot on their plate. It is definitely rewarding to be able to see students achieve. These students have the kind of support that I would’ve wished for in my undergrad. I can only hope that I’m helping them as much as it’s helping me to see them achieve.

One thing about my cohort at West Georgia is that the people are amazing. My classmates are literally the smartest and coolest people I’ve ever met. I’m so grateful to be able to have such awesome people to share this time of my life with. It is true that as soon as you get into grad school, you become a team. I am glad to be a part of this team.

Of course, the one thing that still upsets me is that I’m not in the same place is Taylor. We are trying to make the most out of weekend visits every other weekend and though it is not what I want, it is what we have to do. We both realize that the most important thing for right now is to chase our dreams before we can Chase the dreams that we have together. I’m still so very lucky to be able to have someone as supportive as Taylor in my life. He keeps me motivated every day. Okay, I’ll stop being sappy now.

Other than all of the academic stress, things are great around home. I have the two most beautiful nieces that anyone has ever seen and I get to be around them often. I even took Lucy to my first University of West Georgia football game last weekend. We had a blast and I was excited to be able to experience this game with her. She was excited because it was homecoming and someone got a crown. It is definitely nice to be able to see my family so much.

IMG_0665-0.JPG

IMG_0662-0.JPG

So, there you have it. That just about sums up the past three weeks. I will try to write more often , but let’s be honest. The only reason I even wrote tonight is to avoid the work I need to do. Lol.

Go wolves.

IMG_0663-0.JPG

Leave a Reply

